I Have a Fever and the Only Cure is More Lemon Curd

2-3

I have a confession to make. I have this little obsession that began just before Christmas. It started innocently enough with a gift basket from the UPS Store. When divvying up the items, my coworkers naturally gave me the English-themed lemon curd. I’m sure the word curd and maybe even the word lemon turned them off enough to pass it on. It was handed to me with the words, “Here, your family is English.” Little did I know that one moment would change my life forever.

Side note – My husband was born in England. His dad’s whole side of the family is English and still live in England. His mom is half English, half good ole USA. Needless to say, they have introduced me to and converted me to a fair share of English products.

Now, I can no longer enjoy a Hershey’s chocolate bar. Why? Um, because there is English Cadbury chocolate out there. Our chocolate pales in comparison. If you start reading the ingredients, you will understand why. I don’t know how else to describe it except that American chocolate tastes like wax in comparison. Um…yuck! English chocolate tastes like what you would think chocolate should taste like. No wonder Willy Wonka (and his oompa  minions) went nuts over chocolate in London. If that story took place in the US, it could have had a very different outcome.

Side note to my side note – what is up with the names of English products? Maybe it is a cultural difference. They have a lot of products with unappetizing names such as lemon curd, digestives, clotted cream, custard, flakes, marmite – all of these sound more medical than delectable. The biggest offender is perhaps spotted dick. There is so much that could be said about that one, but I am disinclined to acquiesce to my immature and childish nature. No wonder Americans have been slow to venture out and try these items!

So, that brings me back to my lemon curd problem. I devoured my gifted lemon curd. I ate it on toast and on pancakes…oh my gosh, the pancakes. Spread a thin layer of butter and lemon curd and top with a bit of whip cream. Heavenly. It goes wonderfully with my morning tea (see English indoctrination above).

Soon, my jar ran empty. No problem! I will just hop on over to the store and pick some up. Um…not so easy. The grocery stores didn’t carry that brand. I ventured out and tried another English brand I found out at The Fresh Market. It wasn’t bad but nothing to write overseas about. I found a Scottish brand at World Market and decided to give it a whirl. Um…no. I don’t know what the Scots did, but they did it wrong. It was an odd texture and the lemon tasted more like a cleaning supply lemon smell. Not good.

There are some things in life when you just cannot accept a substitute. My hubby, knowing my penchant for lemon curd, scoured the internet for the best deal on the Wilkins & Sons Ltd lemon curd. He purchased a “case” and here they are in all their glory:

2-2

I know I will enjoy them for many months to come. I have until January 2015 before they expire and that should be no problem.

Really, sometimes you just can’t accept a substitute. This one is even approved by the Queen apparently. The writing on the jar says “By Appointment to Her Majesty the Queen Purveyors of Tiptree Products.” I’m assuming that is a good thing. If the Queen eats it, then it should be good enough for me. So, cheerio. Mind the gap. Enjoy the curd.

– Crystal

P.S. My son set up the jars in a pyramid and insisted that I include the pictures in this post. So, here is another one! Enjoy!

2

14 thoughts on “I Have a Fever and the Only Cure is More Lemon Curd

  1. I shy away from some of those English foods because of the names! I don’t won’t even eat chowder because I don’t like the name! Spotted dick? Really? I’m intrigued but too chicken to Google that one!

    • Ha! I definitely wouldn’t recommend Googling spotted dick! It actually isn’t too bad. A cake-like dessert with a texture similar to a fruit cake. The spots are raisins or currants. You don’t want to get the ones they sell in the can. As you can imagine, cake in a can is not that great.

      • 🙂 I do like cake! Thanks for the heads up on the cake-in-a-can… I didn’t realize that existed either. Apparently I need to broaden my horizons in the grocery aisles!

  2. Love lemon curd 🙂 it’s not that hard to make yourself either 🙂

    I’ve never had a Hershey’s bar, but I am totally with you on Cadbury’s 🙂 The Belgiens and the Swiss can keep their chocolate – I’m a Cadbury’s girl… except they don’t really do white chocolate, and I stopped eating Nestlé about 10 years ago.

    I also love clotted cream – never thought about the name long enough to be put off by it. It is SOOO good on scones or mince pies…….

  3. That is actually the best brand of Lemon Curd. I can’t even bear to smell it these days, because when I was eight I smuggled a jar into bed, and ate the whole lot!! I am so please you have the Dairy Milk love, nothing better!! Half scot, my favourite sweet is called Tablet. You can’t get more medicinal sounding than that. It is actually a form of crystallized fudge, and addictive!!

Leave a Reply

