[insert introduction here]

A wee bit about me….

Green. I love the color green.

If I were on a desert island and could only eat one meal for the rest of my life, I would chose Lamb Pasta. Or coconut anything. <- Actually, let’s go for coconut. Wait, isn’t the desert island question supposed to be who would you chose to be with? Let’s go for my husband. No, my son. No, my husband. Dang, these are hard hypotheticals. Or is the question what three things would you bring? 1) sunscreen (I burn like a biscuit); 2) an electrolyte beverage of some sort (see coconut above); 3) a knife (I’m assuming there is something that I should be cutting. If nothing else, I can use it to improve my mad julienne skills. Wait. Bad idea. Last time I tried to julienne, my thumb got in the way. But hey, how many people can say they julienned their thumb…this girl. I promise I will just use the knife for “survival” purposes…and maybe occasionally to practice my knife throwing.)

Balance. That is the word that describes me best. No, I’m not a gymnast. I’m more of a wannabe yogi.

I’m not sure what shape this blog might take. I have passed around ideas in my head throughout the years (yes, years…I might be prone to procrastination at times…especially when it involves things that I find somewhat intimidating or if it involves going to Wal-Mart. I am not a fan of Wal-Mart.) I do know that I have a story to tell. Hopefully it is a story that wants to be heard, but that is not for me to decide.

Live

I have experienced a range of life events. I trudged through the crappy depths of depression and I am happy to report that I have emerged victorious on the other side. Life isn’t all rainclouds and melancholy, nor is it all rainbows and glittery unicorns. I have learned that we need to embrace the things that help us, hurt us, and move us forward.

The daily ideals of a perfect Pinterest life are often smashed by the mewmew mjolnir hammer of reality. (On a side note, I seriously just googled Thor’s hammer and apparently there is much discussion over how to actually pronounce the name of the hammer. I always thought they said mewmew BUT I also always thought that was really weird and sounded more like something a cat lady would wear around the house…or to Wal-Mart.)

I hope to fill this section with my thoughts on living a healthy, granola-girl life. In balance. In humor. In grace.

Love

Trees. Outdoors. Sunshine. Balance. Green. Hikes. Yoga. Kiddos.

There are lots of things that I love. I want to share them with you in hopes that you may love them too.

Create

I paint. I take pictures. I write. I make crafts. I DIY. I am most happy when I am making something. I have an innate desire to create (I have the closets full of supplies and a kid to prove it). I hope to share tutorials of what to do and maybe, more importantly, what not to do….like julienning your thumb. Bad idea.

These are the things that are on my mind. These are part of my story to tell.

– Crystal

11 thoughts on “[insert introduction here]

  1. I totally love your style, please keep writing! I’m not a catlady, but I could probably do the mewmew thingy, lol, and eat lamb pasta for sure with my adorable husband, he’d definitely love that… I think! Best wishes for a very happy blog from another happy blogger from egypt! ;^) lol I’m not from egypt, my husband is, I’m from california, but we are lovin life in egypt, its awesome here! ♥♥♥

  2. Your post sounds like what goes on in my head daily. We could be friends. I think it fits with the title of your blog too, chaos, what goes on in our heads, and comes out through our fingers on the keyboard.

    On that note – what kind of paintings do you do? I’m a bit of a painter myself. 🙂 Have a sun room full of supplies, canvases (both clean and painted), and drop cloths (I get a little wild when I paint… and I’m not going to be responsible for ruining our hardwoods).

    Thanks for the follow, and I think I’ll return. Let’s be blogging buddies!

    • Thanks! I hadn’t really thought about the chaos in our heads, but YES! I suppose it is even more fitting than I originally thought. Yay!

      I like to paint nature – trees (did I mention that I love trees) and waves and such. I am very attracted to color. I like to call it juicy color. I guess it would be more impressionistic in style. I’m not sure I have the patience for realism. You?

      • I’m moving more toward impressionist and/or abstract, but I have been painting more along the lines of realism with a taste for the surreal.. I hope that makes sense?? For my new style: think Van Gogh with a bit of Picasso, and my old style is more along the lines of Salvador Dali. But then, it’s all me….

        Okay, if that has completely confused you, here is a FB page with some of my paintings/drawings. https://www.facebook.com/Art.Cassie

        • Very cool! You pictures line up with what I was picturing in my head from your description. So, you teach acrylics? I have been wanting to start experimenting with the palette knife. I LOVE texture. I try to paint to make it look like there is texture. I figured it might actually be easier to add the texture.

          • I do teach acrylics, informally. I took my position with Mercy Ships, and had to stop teaching the acrylics class at Michaels. I still paint, A LOT. 🙂

            I only recently started using the palette knife, I’m kind of a cheap skate when it comes to using my paint, which is totally opposite of what you’re supposed to do… but now I just do it, and I love it! Acrylics are difficult to get the texture that you can from oil – but they dry faster, which is preferable for my impatient nature.

Leave a Reply

